Autumn Research Symposium 2018 - Program

ANS Autumn Colours 1200x800.jpg

12-14 September 2018

Lecture theatre, Abisko Scientific Research Station (ANS)

Wednesday 12 September

Start of symposium (chair: Karlsson)

17.00-17.15 Introduction, Jan Karlsson

17.15-17.30 The Scientific Advisory Group for Abisko Scientific Research Station (SAGA), Ulf Molau

17.30-18.00 The potential and constraints for greening of the High Arctic, Greg Henry

18.00-19.00 Welcome mixer (ANS dining room)

19.00- Dinner (ANS dining room)

Thursday 13 September

07.00-08.00 Breakfast (ANS dining room)

Session 1. Climate impact on Ecological dynamics (chair: Dorrepaal)

08.15-08.30 Species asynchrony globally stabilizes primary production against climate variability, Andrew MacDougall

08.30-08.45 The effect of snowmelt gradients on autumn senescence in tundra plants, Friederike Gehrmann

08.45-09.00 Long term effects of increased snow cover on tundra vegetation, Johan Olofsson

09.00-09.15 Fish production in northern lakes, Sven Norman

09.15-09.30 Biodiversity across 40 years in Northern Sweden, Per Stenberg

09.30-10.00 Coffee break (ANS dining room) and fresh air

Session 2. Human dimensions of environmental change (chair: Müller)

10.00-10.30 Socio-economic impacts of permafrost thaw in the coastal region of West Greenland: Working with local stakeholders to develop adaptation and mitigation strategies, Joan Nymand Larsen

10.30-10.45 Tourism and Climate Change, Cenk Demiroglu

10.45-11.00 Outdoor Human Environments: the changing face of climatic barriers to soft mobility and gathering in winter communities, David Chapman

11.00-11.15 Lake-water carbon and climate-human interactions, Richard Bindler

11.15-11.30 Arctic change and sustainability - the human dimension, Peter Sköld

11.30-12.00 Discussion

12.00-13.00 Lunch (ANS dining room)

Afternoon excursions

13:00-16:30 Excursion (outdoors)

Evening special session

17.00-17.30 New climate narratives: art and science collaboration to effect societal change, Olav Westphalen

17:30-18:00 Elevator talks: Bror Holmgren, Kira Ryhti, Sylvain Monteux, Megan Fork, Hendricus Verheijen, Karin Nilsson

18.00-19.00 Tundra bar (ANS dining room)

19.00- Dinner (ANS dining room)

Friday 14 September

07.00-08.00 Breakfast (ANS dining room)

Session 3. Climate impact on biogeochemical cycles (chair: Giesler)

08.15-08.45 Twenty years of species removal in moist acidic tussock tundra, Syndonia Bret-Harte

08.45-9.00 Using drones to study Arctic landscape variability of NDVI and carbon dynamics, Mattias Siewert

09.00-09.15 Hoping for the hump: Whole lake metabolism along an alpine DOC gradient, Marcus Klaus

09.15-09.30 Living soils in a future arctic: Investigating climate impacts on soil biota interactions & C-dynamics, Eva Krab

09.30-10.00 Discussion and end of symposium

10.00-10.30 Coffee break (ANS dining room)

10.30-11.00 Guided tour ANS (optional). Keith Larson


Agneta Larsson, Luleå University of technology, Sweden

Alberto Zannella, Umeå university, Sweden

Andrew MacDougall, University of Guelph, Canada

Bror Holmgren, Umeå university, Sweden

Carolina Olid, Umeå university, Sweden

Cecilia Vallin, Umeå university, Sweden

Cenk Demiroglu, Umeå university, Sweden

Cristian Gudasz, Umeå university, Sweden

David Chapman, Luleå University of technology, Sweden

Demian Hauptmann, Umeå university, Sweden

Dieter Müller, Umeå university, Sweden

Elin Lindén, Umeå university, Sweden

Ellen Dorrepaal, Umeå university, Sweden

Emily Pickering Pedersen, University of Copenhagen

Erik Lundin, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Eveline Krab, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences

Friederike Gehrmann, University of Helsinki, Finland

Gabriella Nordin, Umeå university, Sweden

Greg Henry, Department of Geography, University of British Columbia, Canada

Hanna Blåhed, Umeå university, Sweden

Hendricus Verheijen, Umeå university, Sweden

Håkan Grudd, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Jan Karlsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Joan Nymand Larsen, Stefansson Arctic Institute, Akureyri, Iceland

Joanna Jonsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Johan Olofsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Jonas Gustafsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Justiina Dahl, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Karin Nilsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Keith Larson, Umeå university, Sweden

Kira Ryhti, University of Helsinki

Magnus Augner, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Marcus Klaus, Umeå university, Sweden

Marianne Nilsson, Umeå university, Sweden

Marie Kårebrand, Umeå university, Sweden

Mattias Siewert, Umeå university, Sweden

Megan Fork, Umeå university, Sweden

Mohammed Jawad Salih Ali, Umeå university, Sweden

Niklas Rakos, Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

Olav Westphalen, Hochschule für Künste Bremen

Per Stenberg, Umeå university, Sweden

Peter Sköld, Umeå university, Sweden

Pär Byström, Umeå university, Sweden

Richard Bindler, Umeå university, Sweden

Signe Lett, Copenhagen University, Denmark

Simon Magnusson, Swedish radio

Sven Norman, Umeå university, Sweden

Sylvain Monteux, Umeå university, Sweden

Syndonia Bret-Harte, Toolik Field Station, Institute of Arctic Biology, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA

Ulf Molau, University of Gothenburg, Sweden